Visa – Tajikistan

Travel Information & Tips
Posted on: 6 August 2019


Visa-free regime

The visa-free regime for Tajikistan applies only to citizens of nine, mostly CIS, countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia and Ukraine.

Electronic visaTajikistan Visa website

Since 1 June 2016 citizens of an additional 78 countries have been able to apply online for an electronic visa for stays with a duration of up to 45 days.  It is a very straightforward process.  All you need to do is to visit the website There, enter all your personal information, upload a copy of your passport and pay a fee of $50 by credit card via the website. Where you are asked to provide an address in Tajikistan, just enter the address of a hotel you have booked or that you expect to stay at.

Please note:  You have the option to select whether you would like a GBAO (Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Province) permit for $20.  If you intend to visit the Pamir Mountains you will need this, so make sure you have ticked the box.  On your electronic visa, it will then mention that you have this permit as well.

Once you have paid for the visa and if applicable the GBAO permit, you will receive an electronic visa by email within two days.  You’ll need to print out that electronic visa and bring it with you to Tajikistan.  At the border, you need to show it together with your passport.

Citizens of the following countries are eligible for this electronic visa: All European Union countries, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Cuba, Egypt, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, the Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam and Yemen.

Ordinary visa process

If your country is not on this list you will need to apply for a visa at the nearest Tajik Diplomatic Mission.  Please check the precise requirements on their website.

If you have any other questions regarding the visa application process or about a tour in Tajikistan, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Next story

Travel Information & Tips

Visa Guide to Central Asia

Read more
Back to blog